Van Lawrence Fellowship Applications


The Van Lawrence Fellowship Award is given jointly by the National Association of Teachers of Singing Foundation (NATS Foundation) and The Voice Foundation. The application submission deadline is December 1st.

The Fellowship is intended to provide opportunities for the Fellow to become more thoroughly acquainted with practices, techniques, technology and people involved in laryngology and voice science. It is hoped that the opportunities and contacts provided through the Fellowship experience will enhance the teacher’s ability to do meaningful interdisciplinary research, and will encourage the teacher to apply appropriate voice science advances in the studio.


Candidates for the Van L. Lawrence Fellowship shall be members of The National Association of Teachers of Singing who are actively engaged in teaching. The Fellowship shall be awarded to candidates who have demonstrated excellence in their professions as singing teachers, and who have shown interest in and knowledge of voice science.

Award Amount

Congratulations to Amelia Rollings, PhD, winner of the 2018 Van Lawrence Fellowship. Pictured here with Allen Henderson and Robert T. Sataloff, MD

The amount of the Van L. Lawrence Fellowship award is set by The National Association of Teachers of Singing Foundation and The Voice Foundation at $2,000. As part of the prize, the registration fee will be waived for the Fellowship winner to attend the Annual Symposium: Care of the Professional Voice. Following the Symposium, the Fellow shall be provided with the opportunity to visit laryngologists, speech pathologists, voice scientists and research centers associated with The Voice Foundation during the fellowship year. Specific locations and durations of stay shall be arranged in accordance with the Fellow’s interests and needs, and the availability of the centers to be visited. Following completion of the Fellowship experience, it is anticipated that the Fellow will have opportunities to consult with the scientists he or she has visited and to apply his or her newly acquired knowledge in designing and executing a research project to help advance the field of voice teaching. The Voice Foundation will help provide review of the resulting paper and counseling regarding its improvement. When appropriate, the paper will be considered for expedited publication in the Journal of Voice or the Journal of Singing.


Those wishing to apply for the fellowship should write an electronic  letter of intent to The Voice Foundation

The letter should include the following topics combined in ONE PDF:

  1. Current application of scientific knowledge in the studio
  2. The area of intended study and/or research project
  3. How the Fellowship and research project will benefit your teaching
  4. NATS Chapter to which you belong
  5. A detailed curriculum vitae.

Selection Process

The award selection has become very competitive in recent years, highlighting the positive development of research by voice teachers and professors.

The Van L. Lawrence Fellowship shall be awarded by the Board of Directors of The Voice Foundation and National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS Foundation) . The Fellowship Committee shall be appointed by the Chairman of the Board of The Voice Foundation and the President of National Association of Teachers of Singing Foundation and shall include at least one representative from the Board of Directors of The Voice Foundation and one representative from National Association of Teachers of Singing. Additional members shall be appointed at the discretion of the Chairman of the Board of Directors of The Voice Foundation and the President of National Association of Teachers of Singing Foundation


The Fellowship will be awarded at the next Symposium on Friday:
Care of the Professional Voice, May 29—June 2,  2019 at the Philadelphia Westin in Philadelphia, PA.

Past Fellowship Recipients

  • 2018 – Amelia Rollings
  • 2017 – Matthew Schloneger, Matthew Edwards
  • 2016 – Matthew Hoch
  • 2015 – Filipa Martins Baptista Lã
  • 2014 – Katherine Osborne
  • 2013 – Bonnie Draina
  • 2012 – Kari Ragan
  • 2011 – Brian Gill
  • 2010 – David Meyer
  • 2009 – Donald Bell
  • 2008 – Margaret Baroody
  • 2007 – Kathryn Barnes-Burroughs
  • 2006 – John Nix
  • 2005 – Lynn Helding
  • 2003 – Katherine Eberle, Norman Spivey
  • 2002 – Jan Prokop
  • 2001 – Meribeth Bunch
  • 2000 – Brenda Smith
  • 1999 – Stephen Austin, Jeannette Lo Vetri
  • 1998 – Kathleen Wilson, Marvin Keenze
  • 1997 – Freda Herseth
  • 1996 – Ruth Golden
  • 1995 – Sue W. Snyder, Thomas Houser
  • 1994 – Kenneth Bozeman, Janette Ogg
  • 1993 – Karen Peeler, Lynelle F. Wiens
  • 1992 – Raquel Cortina
  • 1991 – Lois Yadeau

Similar Posts