2023 Awards

2022 Symposium Awards

Sataloff Young Investigators Award
Ahmed M Yousef, MSc

“Deep-Learning-Based Representation of Vocal Fold Dynamics in Adductor Spasmodic Dysphonia during Connected Speech in High-Speed Videoendoscopy”

Hamdan International Presentation Award
Debra Jean Phyland, PhD

“Introducing EAVE: A Self-Report Tool for Tracking the Perceived Physical Aspects of Vocal Function”
Debra Jean Phyland, PhD, Nicole Free, SLP, Mara Behlau, PhD

National Spasmodic Dysphonia Association-Dysphonia International Research Award
Katherine L. Marks, PhD

Spectral Aggregate of the Fundamental Frequency and its Relationship to the Primary Acoustic Features of Adductor Laryngeal Dystonia
Katherine L. Marks, PhD, Taylor F. Feaster, BA, Sarah Baker, CCC-SLP, Manuel Díaz Cádiz, Philip C. Doyle, PhD, Cara E. Stepp, PhD

Van L. Lawrence Fellowship
Ian Howell

Journal of Voice Best Paper Awards

Basic Science Category
Supraja Anand, Lisa M. Kopf, Rahul Shrivastav, David A. Eddins

“Using Pitch Height and Pitch Strength to Characterize Type 1, 2, and 3 Voice Signals”

Clinical Medicine Category
Matthew R. Naunheim, Jonathan Bock, Philip A. Doucette, Matthew Hoch, Ian Howell, Michael M. Johns, Aaron M. Johnson, Priya Krishna, David Meyer, Claudio F. Milstein, John Nix, Michael J. Pitman, Trineice Robinson-Martin, Adam D. Rubin, Robert T. Sataloff, Herbert Steven Sims, Ingo R. Titze, Thomas L. Carroll

“Safer Singing During the SARS-CoV-2 Pandemic: What We Know and What We Don’t”

Speech-Language Pathology/Voice Pedagogy Category
David A. Eddins, Supraja Anand, Arianna Lang, Rahul Shrivastav

“ Developing Clinically Relevant Scales of Breathy and Rough Voice Quality

David W. Brewer Award for Best Poster
First Place

Rita R. Patel, PhD, S. Elizabeth Zauber, MD, Thomas C. Witt; MD, Halum, MD; Benjamin Anthony, MD, Kunal Gupta, MD

“Location of Deep Brain Stimulation in Adductor Laryngeal Dystonia Affects Postoperative Voice Outcomes”

Honorable Mention
Vinod Devaraj, MSc, Doria-Aaria Denk-Linnert, MD, Imme Roesner, MD,  Philipp Aichinger, PhD

“Detection of Amplitude Modulation Glottal Area Waveforms: Application for Detecting Disorders of Vocal Folds

Honorable Mention
Mara R. Kapsner-Smith, MS, Manuel E. Díaz-Cádiz, MS,
Jennifer M. Vojtech, PhD, Daniel P. Buckley, MS, Daryush D. Mehta, PhD, Robert E. Hillman, PhD, Lauren F. Tracy, MD, Jacob Pieter Noordzij, MD, Tanya L. Eadie, PhD, Cara E. Stepp, PhD

“Clinical Cutoff Scores for an Acoustic Index of Vocal Hyperfunction that Combines Relative Fundamental Frequency and Cepstral Peak Prominence”

Best Student Award
Clara Leyns, MSc

“Short-term Acoustic Effects of Speech Therapy in Transgender Women”

Gisele Oliveira Award
Clara Leyns, MSc

“Short-term Acoustic Effects of Speech Therapy in Transgender Women”
“Effects of Speech Therapy for Transgender Women: A Systematic Review”

Quintana Voice Research Award
Zhaoyan Zhang, PhD

“An Update on the Mechanics of Human Voice Production and Control”

Similar Posts